Mini Review: The Edge of Everything

Zoe, still reeling from her father’s sudden death in a caving accident is attacked when she tries to get her brother inside during a blizzard —only to be rescued by a bounty hunter they call X. X is no ordinary hunter. He is from the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. X casts aside the Lowlands’ rules when he falls for Zoe and risk bringing a fate worse than death upon them both. 

For the perfect love, what would you be willing to lose?

I heard about this book at the YA Showcase, held by the Centre for Youth Literature back in December. The event was all about showcasing the upcoming YA books for 2017. When Bloomsbury hit the stage and spoke about the Edge of Everything I was hooked.

Forbidden romance. Check.

Fantasy/Supernatural themes. Check.

An epic journey about two worlds colliding. Hell yeah!

So I was sitting there thinking, “Just take my money already!”

That was how I felt about this book, and I hadn’t even read the blurb yet. I was already all over it. But it did make me a bit nervous that this book might not live up to my expectations…

Thankfully it did!

This book is like you’ve been thrown right off the edge of a cliff and you’re hurtling towards the ground, knowing you’re about to smash into a million pieces at the bottom but you love every second of it because of the rush it gives you. That’s what this book felt like to me.

One of my favourite elements were the writing style, Jeff Giles has a really interesting way of writing dialogue and that is to kind of not do it. There were chapters where very little dialogue happens, but the characters do converse with each other, but it’s just summarised or written about without the normal back and forth. At first, it threw me a little, but once I got into Jeff’s groove I really enjoyed it. It was refreshing.

My favourite element was the exploration of ‘Hell’ in this story. X is from a place he calls the lowlands and it’s very similar to out construct of ‘Hell’ (even though it’s not specifically called or referred to as that). The idea that there are these bounty hunters out to catch people deemed evil or bad and drag them through the earth to a place where they suffer out the remainder of their days as the new generation of bounty hunters is such a cool idea.

It’s not something I’d ever read before, it felt like a unique moulding of a lot of different ideas but the end result felt very different and I was all about it.

12sxvd8bmxdsg0

Me – reading this book

The only issue I had with this concept of ‘Hell’ was X himself. He did feel a little trope-y in places, like “oh, he’s the ultimate bad boy because he’s from hell but he’s actually innocent because he was born there, not dragged, so maybe he can be saved”. I don’t love stories where the one character thinks they can “save” their romantic partner. It’s cliched and such a tired trope in YA. Thankfully it didn’t go down that road too much but there were definite hints along the way.

One other thing – there were a few bits of language that annoyed me as well. Like Zoe used words like “Dude” and “Dawg” a lot. It felt a little out of place for her and threw me every time I read it.

84p7qjg95fyr2

“Sup Dawg” – Me “…?”

But overall I did enjoy this one. It was a solid story that has left itself open to more books in the future, and when they do come out I’ll be early waiting, hand outstretched with money waiting for the publishers to take. 🙂IMG_3952.JPG

 

3.5 Stars out of 5

 

Leave a Reply

