Bookish Pet Peeves

We all have them; the little things in our lives that annoy us to the point of problem. If you’re lucky you can find ways to get over those pet peeves, but if you’re like me, you probably struggle.

I struggle especially when I’m reading. There are too many amazing books waiting for me to read them that I can justify spending time reading books with terrible clichés and annoying traits.

Here are a just a few of my bookish pet peeves:

Poor editing and grammar.

As an aspiring editor myself I understand how difficult it can be catching every single mistake in a 80,000 word book so I forgive a mistake here or there. But when I’m getting a mistake every chapter or page it just becomes unacceptable.
kuhwopkiqjlru

Unauthentic language

Nothing peeves me off more than when authors uses words in their novels their characters would never use. Especially if those words are long, impossible to pronounce words. It feels as if that author is trying to sound smarter by using fancy words when really all it’s doing is creating confusing characters and poor writing. Big no-no for me.

26brq84rhisrcfvuq

Token diverse characters

There has been a huge movement towards diversity in YA fiction lately (and rightfully so!) but I have come across a few novels where authors have tried to diversify their world and failed in doing so. Rather than just writing an accurate representation of the world around them, some authors end up with token characters, like the token gay best friend, or the token character of colour. Seriously? Are we still in a place where we can’t get past the token character and instead have characters from all walks of life as it is in reality?

3o6ztoebnkby0cb1zk

“White Washing”

On the flipside of my previous point, it really annoys me when I’m reading a book and there are only characters of Caucasian descent. That isn’t the world we live in, so why does it exist in our books?

3ojtfqkpyd9ygagn60

Love at first sight

This is a tired and completely overused trope that I am sick to death of. I can’t stand reading books about two characters who fall “in love” instantly upon sight of one another. That’s not love, sure it might be a deep attraction or lust, but love comes from getting to know and understand someone else. Not just sighting them from across the room. Please writers, stop using tired and problematic tropes like this!

3pxbz9aktpkuq

Giving it all up

Have you ever read about a character and spent the majority of the book reading about their goals and plans and watching them progress through a book and develop into a really interesting person and then all that goes out the window when they find themselves in a relationship? It’s the worst! Unless the writer is trying to make a point about how a person shouldn’t lose who they are and what they want in a relationship, this is a flawed trope that I wish didn’t exist.

ppshspeb7orhq


So these are just a few things that really irritate me when I’m reading.

What bugs you? Do you agree or disagree with any of my pet peeves?

Share your own in a comment down below.

 

 

One thought on “Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Emily @ theBookishLounge says:

    I agree with so many of your pet peeves. Token diverse characters annoy me so much because it’s just lazy. I’ve been trying to phrase the “giving it all up” trope and I think you’ve got it spot on. It frustrates me so much when characters are willing to throw everything away and all their character development for ~that~ person. Ugh. Another peeve I have is the rash self-sacrificer which kind of relates with the giving it all up trope as there is careful planning but then decides *only they* need to sacrifice themselves without consulting team. Which creates even more trouble as the gang tries to save them. As you can see I’m very particular about this one 😀 Great list Emily!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

