Bookstagram: Love it or Hate it?

Instagram is taking over our social media time, there’s no doubt about it. It’s one of the most popular apps on the appstore, and beat Twitter out for members back in 2015 and still manages to be in the top ten social media sites in 2016.

Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 9.14.03 pm.pngBut when did Bookstagram take hold of the popular social media platform? It’s hard to say exactly, it’s probably been around since Instagram’s launch in 2010 but in the last few years its certainly carved out its space on the app. It’s also changed the way people talk about books on the internet.

Gone are the days where you’ll find a book blog with solely just a text review, or just the image of the book’s front cover alongside a text based review. Maybe you could make a comment on how human’s need images to break up text online, or say that its making us lazy online readers. Sure you could say those things and you might be right. But it’s very hard to say for sure.

IMG_3278

Shameless plug

As an avid book blog reader, good content is really important for me. I don’t just go looking for a blog based on aesthetics like one might on Instagram. But good visual layout is just as important. If I can’t read the review or content because of poor layout and visual choices, I’m not going to read that blog again. It’s simply how I prefer to consume content online.

A good promotion of your site is important too. How else will people find you? Bookstagram lets bloggers do just that. Take a few great snaps of your book or post, with maybe a pull quote from the review and share it online. Easy done. Promote your content over different platforms, reach a wider audience, diversify your readers all in one easy step.  And you’re bringing traffic back to your site. What could be better than that for a book blogger?

So how vital is Instagram to the success of bloggers?

I don’t know. I struggle to find a conclusive answer to this question.

So I want to open the conversation up to you guys. What are your thoughts? Do you love it? Use it to find book reviews? Think it’s important to a blog, or think it’s completely useless in blogging? Just like looking at the pictures? Think it’s a bit silly? I really want to know.

I jumped on the bandwagon not that long ago because I thought it would help with cross promoting my blog content and help give my posts some great visual content.

But is it really helping to build more followers and readers? It’s hard to say right now. I’ve only been doing it for a short amount of time and not as consistently as I would like.

So I guess my question to you all is this : Do you think Instagram is vital to a blogger success in 2016? 


I know this is a big topic to open up for discussion but I’m really curious to hear people’s answers. Leave me a comment so we can get this conversation going!  ❤

5 thoughts on “Bookstagram: Love it or Hate it?

  1. nannygrannie says:

    I actually don’t like it, and don’t use it. I’ve looked into it because I love books and want to read reviews but it seems like people use it strictly for taking photos of books. Which I don’t really care about. I use wordpress and goodreads for my reviews…always looking for more ways to read reviews and talk books though!

    Like

    • fromthelibraryofemily says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
      I completely understand what you’re saying. I thought that too, that maybe instagram was all just about pretty pictures and there were no real reviews on there. Luckily I have found a few users who seem to toe the line between pretty pictures and actual book reviews. So I feel like I sit on the fence on this issue.

      Like

  2. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I don’t think Instagram is the best for driving people to your reviews, I have a few followers and less then a 1/4 of them are fellow blogger friends. I use it to take pretty photos yes, but also just to have a chat about a book that I’m currently reading coz it’s fun to talk to book lover that don’t have a blog 🙂
    I think Twitters probably the best for cross promotion in my opinion 😀 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

