Unblocking Writer’s Block

As a writer it’s easy to get blocked. Sometimes life gets in the way and you have too much on your plate, so your creativity gets blocked. This happens to me so often that I’ve developed a bit of a method for getting around it.

Hopefully you find these tips useful, and as always please leave a comment. It’s always helpful to hear ideas from others and I’d love to know what you do when you’re in a creative rut.


1. Change your scenery

Sometimes creativity needs a change of scenery, sometimes you just need to get out of your own space and try something new. 

Go for a walk, head over to your favourite coffee shop, or try your local library for a quiet space. Just get out of your normal writing spot. Take your notebook with you and just see what a change in place does to your flow. Maybe you just need to do some serious people watching to get a bit of inspiration or listen to a crazy conversation someone’s having on the train. Whatever it is that works for you, just go do it.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 10.47.03 am.png

If your stuck and have no idea where to go you could always try Workform, this is a website that shows you great working spaces near you. They might be coffee shops with free wifi, cafe’s, bar’s or a library you’ve never heard of. Or they could also be something more private like rentable working spaces. It’s a great site if you’re in a new city or maybe you want to explore a new part of your town and you’re looking for a great working space. Either way it’s a handy website to have in the back of your mind.

2. Use a Writing Prompt

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve stared at a blank page on my computer, with the damn cursor blinking back at me. Putting the first few words on the page is often the hardest, so I started using a prompt to help get those words down.

It’s based around using the letters of your name. Use each letter in your name as the staring letter for each sentence on the page.

For example, my name :  E-M-I-L-Y

Everybody Run!” voices screamed from all directions of the room, the sound pieced my ears, ringing incessantly, never fading.
Move it!” I was pushed to the ground, I could see the escape, people running towards the last exit in the dim hope they would reach it in time. Inside my stomach twisted, my visions blurred, the ground shook, and the walls began to move, closing in from every direction. Light began’s to fade, people’s screams grow louder, the walls get closer to me and I could see the outline of each brick that was about to crush me and I could only think one thing. You’re about to die.

Do you see how I used the letters in my name to spark inspiration for a scene? It doesn’t have to be super strict where each sentence must start with the next letter of your name, it’s more about giving you a little prompt to get your writing started.

This is a tool I use a lot, I find it really helpful when I’m blocked. I just put my word at the top of my page and start writing, I don’t think too much about what I’m doing, or about editing or proper grammar. All of that can come later.

First just think about those letters and before you know it, you’ll have something.

3. Make writing a Regular Habit

Making time to write everyday isn’t easy. But carving out a little block of time each day to be creative really helps. Especially in the long run. You could set aside 10 minutes every morning or night, maybe write on your train to work or just before you go to sleep. Whatever works for you.

If you find you need something to hold you accountable, try 750 Words. It’ll send you email reminders and reward you for writing everyday. This is a site that has the aim for its users to write 750 words everyday. This website believes that writers take a little bit to get warmed up, that they need to write freely everyday to help get all the life stuff out of their heads, so the ideas can flow freely.

It’s about giving your brain a chance to dump everything, so creativity can flow.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 10.46.32 am.pngBasically the website is a private online journal that tracks how many words your write. It sends you email reminders to stay on track and offers breakdowns on your writing. So it will analyse the themes, word choices, if you get sidetracked at any point and how long it takes you to write. This can be helpful info to know.

It’s a great way to get started because no one’s ever going to see it and it has a small, achievable goal. I use it as a way to get everything down that’s been going on in my life first, so it’s out of my head and I can focus on the creative ideas I have floating around.

Remember, writing everyday doesn’t mean creating something amazingly original everyday. It could just be you spending 15 minutes getting everything out of your head and down on paper. It’s your time. Use it however you like.


So those are a few of my writer’s block tips. Hopefully they were helpful to you.

What tools do you use to get free of writer’s block? I’d love to know! ❤

(BTW not sponsored by any websites mentioned above. I actually use them and like them)

Leave a Reply

