Reading Challenge Review

I think it’s about time that I have a look back over my reading for the year, after all we are over half way through 2016 and I set a pretty decent reading challenge for myself this year. Let’s have a look at my reading for 2016.

july reads_FotorWhat books have I loved? What books disappointed me? What books are absolute must reads? And what books am I most looking forward to in the second half of the year?

Books I loved

Station Eleven

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you might have seen the full review I did for this book and how much I raved about it. Months later and I’m still thinking about it. That truly marks a great book for me.

A Court of Mist and Fury

I couldn’t write a book review for this book in fear it was just going to be incoherent words and emotions sprawled across the screen. Even now I’m still struggling to put into words how much I loved this book. I did manage to string a few sentences together in my Goodreads Review, “It reminded me of the books that made me love reading as a child, the books where I felt like this other world really existed somewhere out there and these character’s I’d grown to love were as real as my own family.”

Books that disappointed me

Half Bad

I really wanted to like this book, the premise was great, the writing style was unique and different but I just couldn’t get into it. I don’t know if it was the characters I didn’t like or if it was the overall story. But something just didn’t sit right with me. I gave this book 2 stars because of it’s potential but it’s just not the book for me.

The Murder Complex

This was a book I’d had on my TBR for years. YEARS. So you can imagine how excited I was to be finally reading it and how much it pained me to not enjoy it. Overall I think my dislike came in the way the world was constructed, I felt like I didn’t understand it enough to feel the full pain the characters were feeling. The romantic plot was also something I really didn’t enjoy. It felt so forced and one-sided. I think the main problem here was that I’d built it up in my head all this time and it just didn’t live up to my expectations.

Absolute must reads

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter is the final book in the Lunar Chronicle series and had a lot to live up from the books previous and a lot of storylines to tie up. This book did both brilliantly. Not only was it an amazing follow on from the books previous but it also had its own unique story and hooked me from the get-go. I loved it and wished I had more to read. If you haven’t picked up the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer yet, what have you been doing with yourself?? Give it a go!

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I found this series online completely by accident and decided to give it a go. It astounded me how much better this series got with each book. If you’ve read the synopsis for the first book it might sound like a typical YA/Dystopian story but what I really enjoyed was how the focus was on the individual kids and their perceived impact on society. It’s based around this idea that children develop powers as they grow older and those powers are perceived to have the potential to harm others. They are placed into a colour system based on how dangerous those powers are (red and orange being the worst). The story follows Ruby who’s been labelled as one of the dangerous ones and we follow her journey as she comes to terms with her power, her place in wider society and how she can help others like her find the freedom they so desire.

There’s a wonderful romantic plot line in this story, with a boy that just pulls at all your heartstrings. The depth and plot to this book, in my opinion, are just unmatched in YA right now. If you’re looking for something with suspense, fantastic world building and characters you’ll just fall in love with, give this a go!

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

This is an adult fantasy series following a princess that’s been in hiding her whole life finally return to claim her throne. It’s all about Kelsea as she learns to rule her people after being kept hidden for so long and how she is going to free her people from the cunning and evil Red Queen. It’s intriguing and interesting place in time that this story takes place in as this is a fantasy series set in the future where the founders of this world travelled to another place in time, free from modern technology to rebuild their world.

If you’re the kind of reader who enjoyed books by Sarah J Maas, or Victoria Aveyard and you’re looking for something a little more mature, definitely give this book a go.

Most looking forward to

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Never night by Jay Kristoff


july reads 2_Fotor

If you ever want to see what books I’m currently reading check out my Goodreads or my Instagram. Links in the sidebar.

What are your favourite books so far for 2016? Which disappointed you the most? Got any recommendations for me? Let me know ❤

Leave a Reply

