From My Library To Yours: Non-fiction

I’m starting a new series on my blog called, From My Library To Yours. It will be a series strictly about book recommendations. Sure you’re probably thinking, ‘aren’t all books reviews recommendations anyway?’ And you would be partially right.

Someone might feel, after reading a book review, like buying or reading that book and that’s great! But I don’t review every book I read, mainly because I like to review books where I can offer something new to the conversation. And a lot of the time, if the book is well known enough I don’t have anything new or interesting to add, I won’t review it. But that doesn’t mean the book isn’t great or isn’t worth reading.

Come in, From My Library To Yours, a series that will introduce you to books from my bookshelf that I love (but haven’t spoken much about) and I think you might too.

The first books I’m recommending are all non-fiction books. Which is might be a bit strange, considering my blog so far is primarily fiction. I do read non-fiction just not as often as my fiction books.

IMG_1528_Fotor

Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen by Mary Norris

This is a great read for all you grammar junkies out there. Mary brakes down language, spelling and grammar for the reader, all the while sharing great little anecdotes. You might be thinking, why should I read this language book over the tons of other out there on the market and I would answer because Mary has worked for over three decades at The New Yorker. It doesn’t get much more authentic than that.

I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to people because its practical without feeling like I was reading a textbook or a required reading for a class. It felt more like I was reading about one person’s life and their interactions with language and punctuation along the way. But I also learnt a lot, without feeling like I was studying. So often when I read books about punctuation, or grammar and its really dry and almost monotone. There’s no passion or interest beyond the rules being explained. Mary has a captivating style I really enjoy. She’s easy to read and I can feel how much she enjoys what she does.

So if you’re an aspiring writer, editor or just a grammar nazi you need to check this book out.

For people who like:

Language, grammar, punctuation etc

The Literature scene

Avoid if you don’t like:

The English language or punctuation in general


Gut: The Inside Story of our Body’s Most Under-rated Organ by Giulia Enders

Just like the title suggests, this is a book detailing everything there is to know about the Gut. Enders goes into great detail about the intestinal track, starting right at the top and following the journey all the way down the body. She explores all the different organs that play a role in food’s journey through the body, but also how the gut plays a huge role in the entire process. I was so intrigued reading this book, as someone who has suffered from an allergy based disease like Eczema my whole life I was amazed that something as simple as probiotics could help. And for me it did. After having success with probiotics I had to learn more about the gut and the amazing links it has to all other areas of the body, some scientists are only just discovering.

I was so intrigued reading this book, as someone who has suffered from an allergy based disease like Eczema my whole life I was amazed that something as simple as probiotics could help. And for me it did. After having success with probiotics I had to learn more about the gut and the amazing links it has to all other areas of the body, some scientists are only just discovering. So I read this book and I devoured it. It was such a quick read that gave me so much information in a very short span of time. I really enjoyed reading it and I often recommend it to people.

Obviously, this book is great for people with problems relating to that area as if offers a wealth of knowledge, but it’s also completely fascinating. Enders has unique, witty approach to writing about this embarrassing bodily function complete with great little graphics, so you never feel like you’re learning about how your body goes to the toilet. If you’re someone who wants to know how your body works, or you’re just mildly curious about this international bestseller, you need to check it out.

For people who like:

Explorations and explanations about the human body

People looking to work on their inner health

Avoid if you don’t like:

Bodily functions explained in great detail


 

IMG_1531_Fotor

 

Tell me what books you’d love for me to recommend next.

Fantasy? Sci-fi? Historical fiction? Let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

