My Current Favourite Book Series

There are a lot of books series out there and navigating which series are worth reading can be really tricky. What if only the first book’s great and the rest are terrible?What if the characters don’t change and develop over the series? What if it takes three books to build plot?

So many things to consider before you’ve even thought about the genre you like! Hopefully reading about some of my favs will give you an idea for some new series to read!

  1. The Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
    Source

    Also how gorgeous are these covers?! Source

    Books Currently: 2
    Complete: December 2015 with book 3 – Their Fracture Light

This is a fantastic futuristic series entirely set in space. C’mon how awesome does that sound? Each book in the series has two main characters, usually told split narrative style. The author’s play with time and narrative style a lot, which makes for such an interesting read. And I love that each book has a romantic plot line, but that plot line differs book to book, keeping each romance original and interesting.

But the best part is each book has different main characters, creating the world of the novels, not just the world of one character. There are cameo appearances from previous characters in the other books that help connect the series. Also this is series is written by Australian authors, gotta love some #OzYA.

This trilogy will take you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, but you’re gonna love every second of it.

  1. The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas
    Books Currently: 5 (including the prequel)
    Complete: No, two more books yet to come.
Source

Aren’t the UK & Aus covers powerful? Source

This is an amazing series. I don’t even really have the words to accurately describe how I feel about them because each book goes above and beyond my expectations.

This is a fantasy adventure series, following the main character Celaena’s journey. In the first novel she’s competing to become the Kings best assassin and win her freedom. I don’t want to give to much away but Celaena’s story is full of emotional twists and turns, grand secrets and so much action.

The best thing about Sarah’s books is the effortless switching between characters points of view, opening up the story beyond Celaena’s world. Each book has more plot, more characters and more action, feeling as grand as a Game of Thrones episode and just as emotional. The 4th book in the series was just released and delivered some much needed closure on certain plot points, proving that Sarah can write effectively over a long series but leaving room for more. So be on the look out for more books in this series.

Also on an thrilling note this series has just been optioned for a television adaption. How exciting! This link will take you to an article explaining more about the series, and the TV adaption.

  1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    Source

    Book 4’s title is Winter. Source

    Books Currently: 3
    Complete: With book 4’s release in November 2015

Going to be honest here I didn’t love the first book in this series, maybe because I felt it read a bit younger than the other series I’ve mentioned, but the 2nd and 3rd book really sold me on the series and I’m really excited for the fourth.

The series is a sci-fi series set in the future where cyborgs are commonplace, there’s a society living on the moon and a deadly virus is wiping out half of the earth’s population.

Each book follows one girl’s story, and each novel builds on top of the one before it, interweaving Cinder’s plot line with Scarlet’s and then with Cress’ and soon with Winter’s. The other main plot point is that each book is a modern retelling of traditional fairy tales. Its an interesting layer, but I enjoy that some aren’t as traditional and don’t follow the strict fairy tale rules.

As you can tell these series all have one thing in common. The same type of world building where each book opens up a new point of view but builds on the one we already read. I love series that world build and make me feel like I can picture everything and I can see myself right alongside these characters. That’s the main thing I look for when I’m searching for a new book series to dive into.

Hopefully one of these series has captured your interest and you’ll have some great new books to read. Lemme know you’re favourite book series, I’m always looking for new books to read.

As always, happy reading ❤

3 thoughts on “My Current Favourite Book Series

  1. Emily | RoseRead says:

    Can you tell that I’m totally stalking your blog right now? 😛 I just finished “These Broken Stars” and I loved it! (I reviewed it on my blog). It was not at all what I expected and I can’t wait to continue the rest of the series! There’s apparently a short story that connects book 1 and 2? I just downloaded it. I also just purchased Cinder literally today, and I’m pumped to start reading that series, too. Assassin’s Blade sounds awesome…too many books, too little time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fromthelibraryofemily says:

      I love that you’re doing that(I’ve totally done it to you previously). Yeah the short is pretty good, it just helps ties up some loose threads from book one to book two. I know, I’m having the same problem. I should be finishing off some Uni assignments right now and all I’m doing is reading book reviews online… whoops.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

