Half-yearly Favourites

So its that time again, we have reached the half-way point of 2014! Did it fly by for you as well? I look back over my calendar and think, where the hell did the last six months go?  How do you count your days? In the number of good memories, in the number of bad ones, or in the number of amazing books you read?

I like to do the latter, it helps me think about my frame of mind and where I’ve come from and also it helps give me an idea of where I’ll be going. So today I thought I would share with you my favourite books for the first half of 2014. This list will be a huge help later on when I comes to choosing my favourite books of the whole year. Let me know some of your favourites from the last six months, whether they be new discoveries or reliving old favourites, I’d love to know.

IMG_1306_2_1

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

If you haven’t read this book and you’re in anyway involved in the internet or fandoms (fan communities), you need to re-evaluate. Seriously, like right now go to a bookstore or hope onto Book Depository or amazon and buy right now. I’ll wait, you just come straight back.

It is such a wonderful book about growing up and becoming your own person, and letting go of the things we hold onto from our past and embracing our fears. It’s a brilliant look into the life of a ‘fangirl’ and the life of writers of fanficition. But it’s also a really truthful and heartfelt look into what it’s like to feel over-shadowed by other people in your life.

Plus you also get to read a fanfiction in conjunction with the book, so it’s like getting two books in one, bonus!

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

I got this book back late in 2013 and read it right then and there and loved it. Honestly, truly did. But then I got swept away in a sea of other books and completely forgot about it. I blame it on falling into a black hole of John Green books and the difficulty I found in clawing my way out of it. But I re-read this book again recently and completely loved it. It really is a fantastic book.

It’s a book about letting your past define your future and opening yourself up to changing the way you view yourself and looking for the positive in every situation. I really enjoy Robyn’s writing, it’s witty and edgy and hilarious and serious. It reminds me of all the authors I love, but with its own personal spin on things. Go Robyn!

The Age of X Series by Richelle Mead

If you are unfamiliar with Richelle Mead, you need to go check out the Vampire Academy books, and the Bloodlines Series. They are both equally excellent and with remind you why she is arguably of the most successful young adult fantasy writers in the business. However the Age of X series is her adult series and I think I love it even more. The first book Gameboard of the Gods came out a while ago and the second book, the Immortal Crown came out very recently (May I believe). I read these books back to back and fell completely into them, like leave me, I’m locked in my room cause I’m on a mission to find out what happened next.

They are everything you come to know from Mead and so much more. I love that the premise of the books is set in a future where society is separate from religion entirely, but religion is fighting its way back in. The religious aspect is fantastic because it brings in folklore, and Nordic gods with the religious figures society knows and so many I’ve never heard of, but am instantly intrigued.

This has become my newest favourite and I can’t wait to read the next one!

One thought on “Half-yearly Favourites

  1. lydiacastiel says:

    I adore Richelle, I just ordered age of x immortal crown. You NEED to check out the Georgina Kincaid books and the Dark Swan serie like they are fab. She is literally one of my favourite authors of ALL time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

