Collective Book Haul

I blame the internet for the sheer number of the book’s I’m about to show you! I browse a lot of different blogs online and most of them are book blogs, let’s be honest. So when I came across a few of these books I knew I had to buy them.

Property of Emily WilsonSecret Letters is a book I read about on Goodreads (link to my account) and saw mixed reviews.  A book set in London centuries ago following a young girl trying to be the next Sherlock Holmes isn’t something I’d normally enjoy. But Lauren (365 Days of Reading) raved about this book and I normally love her recommendations, so I bought this book based on her review. Let’s hope it’s good.

The Beginning of Everything is a much talked about book in the online community lately, due to it being a fairly new book.  Robyn Schneider’s work has been compared to John Green and is being called the next big thing in young adult literature and I have to agree.  I’ve already read it and loved it. Look out for a full review very soon.

Property of Emily WilsonAcross the Universe is a book series that’s been around for a while now (it’s apart of a trilogy I believe) but I’ve never seen it in my local bookstores. So when I went out of town this past weekend and I found it in a tiny little bookshop I knew I had to have it. I will admit it’s mainly because I love the song Across the Universe by the Beatles and because the cover is amazingly beautiful.

The Moon and More is a book I’ve already reviewed on this blog so you already know my thoughts. So here’s a quick summary; I love Sarah Dessen and I love this book.

Property of Emily WilsonWhen I heard rumours that the ever popular Maze Runner series was being into a film, I knew I had to make it my mission to read the series before the film comes out. Staring one of my favourite actors, Dylan O’Brien, I can’t wait for the release of the film and reading the entire series has been a real adventure. I’ve currently read the first book and am half way through the second.

Property of Emily WilsonWool is a book I found at a discount bookstore in Melbourne and while I hadn’t heard much about it, I was with my aunt who only had good things to say about it. So I’m keeping an open mind about this one.

Gameboard of the Gods is a novel by Richelle Mead, author of the Vampire Academy books, but this book is aimed at adult readers. It has similar elements, like strong characters and fantastical origins, so I’m eager to read this book.

Property of Emily WilsonThe Dream Thieves is the sequel to The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater and I am so excited to read this book. If you’ve read my review of some of Maggie’s other works, you know I’m a fan and this series has started off really well. I’m hoping the next instalment does the same.

The Hunt again was a book I hadn’t heard much about but again came highly recommended to me, so I picked it up. It was really cheap (about $4 at a discount store) and while I haven’t read it yet, I’m looking forward to reading it.

How do you find new books? Do you rely on the recommendations of others and if so, what info do you need to have on a book before you buy it?

Leave a Reply

